Trinity of Terror – Fargo ND – April 4th 2022

Butler Arena at Red River Valley Fairgrond Presents: Ice Nine Kills, Motionless In White, and Lilith Czar

Review and Photo by Jake Hageman

Ice Nine Kills, Motionless In White, and Black Veil Brides united together to create the ultimate triple co-headlingtour bringing along the newly upcoming star, Lilith Czar. The Trinity of Terror tour started March 17th, and it touched down in Fargo, North Dakota last night. The day before the show, Black Veil Brides announced that Andy Biersack (vocalist) and a few other band members caught Covid-19, so they were forced to drop the show. I was a little bummed that they couldn’t make it, but I knew MIW and INK would still put on a great performance.

Opening the night, Lilith Czar performed a short yet powerful set. Lilith grew her fanbase from Sirius XM Octane, and people seemed to be really into it. She’s promoting her album Created From Filth which came out in 2021. One song that really stuck to me was “Feed My Chaos”. The chorus is super catchy, and it got added to my Spotify playlist right after the show.

Being that Black Veil Brides couldn’t make it, Motionless In White took the stage next. I’ve seen MIW multiple times before, and they keep getting better and better every time I see them. I’m a huge Industrial Metal fan, so I love bands that have synthy sounds to them. MIW has a ton of that, and it sounds so cool live (especially with the loud thumping of bass drums). Chris “Motionless” Cerulli dominated the stage while fans sang to every song. I was happy to hear them play one of their newest singles “Cyberhex”. Even though it just came out, everyone still seemed to sing along. Overall, MIW put on a great performance. As far as elements on stage goes, every band had a huge LCD screen behind them. This made for super cool effects that were timed to the backing tracks. The lighting alone was also crazy. While I was shooting INK in the sound booth, and I was talking to the guy who programs all the videos and lights for both MIW and INK. I then realized how much work goes into making all of that. It was super cool to see their computer screens compared to what was happening on stage.

Motionless In White Setlist:

1.) Thoughts & Prayers
2.) Reincarnate
3.) Necessary Evil
4.) Voices
5.) Soft
6.) Rats
7.) Brand New Numb
8.) Cyberhex
9.) Another Life
10.) Somebody Told Me (The Killers cover)
11.) Eternally Yours

Ever since I saw Ice Nine Kills play for the first at Blue Ridge Rockfest in Virginia, it’s been a dream of mine to photograph them up-close. Being a huge fan for gimmicky bands and anything horror related, this is pretty much the perfect band me. After releasing Welcome to Horrorwoodin October of 2021, I was even more excited to see INKbecause I knew their visuals would be even better with songs based off of movies like Child’s Play, Pet Sematary, American Psycho, My Bloody Valentine, Hostel, The Evil Dead, and Resident Evil. If you don’t know much about Ice Nine Kills, every song since The Silver Scream (2018) is based off of a famous horror movie. Because of that, every song played live has different theatrics according to whatever movie-based song they play. Spencer Charnas, the lead singer, played different characters like Pennywise, Freddy Krueger, Michael Myers, etc. The band as a whole sounded great, and they didn’t disappoint at all. I’m so happy I was able to capture photos in the pit for these guys!

Ice Nine Kills Setlist:

1.) Welcome to Horrorwood
2.) Wurst Vacation (Hostel)
3.) Hip to be Scared (American Psycho)
4.) Stabbing in the Dark (Halloween)
5.) Rainy Day (Resident Evil)
6.) IT is The End (It)
7.) Communion of the Cursed (The Exorcist)
8.) Take Your Pick (My Bloody Valentine)
9.) Ex-Mortis (The Evil Dead)
10.) The Shower Scene (Psycho)
11.) Funeral Derangements (Pet Sematary)
12.) The American Nightmare ( A Nightmare on Elm Street)
13.) Thank God It’s Friday (Friday the 13th)